My Stranger

I walked in and sat down

waiting for the time to pass by.

and then I looked up,

that quick glance caught my eye.

She was the meaning of the word ‘beauty’

with no make-up on and a scarf tied.

She was light skinned,

with full pink lips and deep brown eyes.

She sat there alone

while everyone else was up.

but I couldn’t stop staring

there was something that kept pulling me.

She caught me staring and so I put down my head

then she smiled at me and looked away.

In that quick glance she gave me

there was an understanding between us.

In that moment

I was able to decipher her thoughts

and I could tell she wasn’t happy

She didn’t like the way things were

but she couldn’t let people know

so she hid in her misery

but in that quick glance

she confided everything to me

and I understood her every motion

she got up and left,

before I had the chance to meet her

and I kept hoping she’d be back

but I never saw her again.

I never got to know her name

or where she was from

but that stranger taught me something that day

something that I began to realize.

That we all have pain in common

it just differs in the way we hide it.

#MiniPicasso

Leave a comment